Purchasing of tickets for all concerts.

Tickets are available in advance online at  
www.iscaensemble.org.uk or www.ticketsource.co.uk

Sidmouth concert tickets are also available from

Paragon Books, 38 High Street, Sidmouth (01395 514516).

Tickets may also be obtained in person or by phone at

Exeter Visitor and Information & tickets tel. 01392 665885, 1 Dix's' Field, Exeter, EX1 1GF

Book now

Saturday 23rd. April 2022 at 7.30 p.m.

Sidmouth Parish Church



Isca Ensemble South West




Renowned international violinist.



Programme will include

Elgar : Violin Concerto

Sibelius : Symphony No. 3

Brahms : Two Hungarian Dances



Described by The Strad as "exuberant... seductive... with bravura and oodles of personality", prize-winning violinist and composer,  Joo Yeon Sir makes a welcome return

to Sidmouth to perform with the Isca Ensemble.


Visit.  https://www.youtube.com/user/JooYeonSir


Joo Yeon Sir (born June 29, 1990 in Seoul), is a South Korean violinist residing in the UK.

A former pupil at the Purcell School, Joo Yeon Sir is a Scholar at the Royal College of Music, London where she studies with Dr Felix Andrievsky. She has been a major prizewinner at national and international competitions in the UK and abroad and has performed as recitalist, chamber musician and soloist with orchestras at various venues including the Wigmore Hall, London Arts Club, St James's Palace in presence of Prince Charles, the Foundling Museum as part of New London Orchestra Young Performer's Concert Series supported by the MBF, and most recently at Fairfield Halls performing Vaughan Williams's The Lark Ascending.

In 2006 at the age of sixteen, Sir became the Overall Grand Prix Laureate at Nedyalka Simeonova International Violin Competition in Haskovo, Bulgaria where her gala performance was broadcast on Radio Bulgaria (BNR). Sir is also recipient of Royal Philharmonic Society's Emily Anderson Prize Award 2007, MBF Music Education Award 2008 and the Second Prize at Windsor Festival International String Competition 2008, as youngest finalist. She holds many Young Musician titles including the Harlow, Rotary Club, Sevenoaks and Rickmansworth Young Musician Competitions. Other prizes include June Clements Memorial Medal from the Sevenoaks Three Arts Festival, Prix de l'Hospitalité Musicale from Masters de Belesbat, Duke of Devonshire Award and President's Prize.

She has been supported generously by the Benslow Music Trust, Musicians Benevolent Fund, the Royal Philharmonic Society, Philharmonia Orchestra/Martin Musical Scholarship Fund and Royal College of Music.

Sir is also a composer and has won the First Prize and the title of BBC/The Guardian Young Composer of the Year 2005 at the age of fourteen for her composition "Conflict in Time", which has been performed at Wigmore Hall, Cadogan Hall by Endymion and has been broadcast on BBC Radio 3. She has written compositions for the Purcell School projects such as the "Birtwistle Games" Festival at the South Bank Centre and her most recent work, "Cold Dark Matter - an exploded view" for orchestra, inspired by British sculptor Cornelia Parker, was premiered at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, South Bank Centre by the Purcell School Symphony Orchestra in February 2007 as the winner of Purcell School Composition Competition. At the same occasion, she appeared as soloist in Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade, which was broadcast on BBC Radio 2 as part of Howard Goodall's programme, Class Acts.

Thursday 30th. June 2022 at 8 p.m.

Sidmouth Parish Church


Classical guitar recital



John Dowland - Præludium P.98 & Fantasia No.7 in G
William Walton - Selections from Five Bagatelles
Agustín Barrios - La Catedral
 - Una Limosna por el Amor de Dios
Heitor Villa-Lobos - Selections from Douze Études
Isaac Albéniz - 
Suite Española, Op. 47: 
Asturias (Leyenda)
Fernando Sor - Variations on a Theme of Mozart, Op. 9

Booking opens in the New Year 


Saturday 2nd. July 2022 at 7.30 p.m.

Sidmouth Parish Church


Berlioz : Roman Carnival Overture


Rodrigo : Fantasia para un gentilhombre



‘He went on to command everyone`s attention with his virtuosity, rich quality of tone and deep understanding of the music.’


Dvořák: Symphony No. 8


In 2016, James Girling won the RNCM Gold Medal Competition, the conservatoire’s most prestigious award. As a result, he gave his Wigmore Hall debut solo recital on classical guitar in 2017. Following performances of Rodrigo’s Fantasía para un Gentilhombre, James Girling made his Concierto de Aranjuez debut with orchestra in 2019. James has been awarded the Biddy Baxter and John Hosier Music Trust’s Special Award, the Emscote bursary from Edward Dusinberre of the Takács Quartet, Hilda Anderson Deane Award for all-round excellence, a Countess of Munster Musical Trust Award and Help Musicians Postgraduate Awards.

Composed in 1954 for guitarist Andrés Segovia, Fantasía para un gentilhombre (Fantasia for a Gentleman) was premiered by Segovia and The San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Enrique Jordá.

Dvořák's Symphony No. 8 is cheery and lyrical and draws its inspiration from the Bohemian folk music that he loved.


Saturday 29th. October 2022 at 7.30 p.m.



Rossini : Oveture 'Barber of Seville'


Rachmaninov : Piano Concerto No. 2



Rachmaninov : Symphony No. 2


Lucas Krupinski is a Steinway Artist, represented by the  Ludwig van Beethoven Association  and Madam Elzbieta Penderecki.


Polish Minister of Culture and National Heritage Prize for remarkable artistic accomplishments.


Ist prize at the International Piano Competition in San Marino, 2016. In addition to the main prize, he received all the additional prices: the Audience Award, the Music Critics’ Award and the Orchestra Award.

Winner of numerous awards throughout Europe.