2021 Orchestral concerts and recitals.

For background information about the Isca Ensemble please see the next page.

Tickets are available in advance online at  
www.iscaensemble.org.uk or www.ticketsource.co.uk

Sidmouth concert tickets are also available from

Paragon Books, 38 High Street, Sidmouth (01395 514516).

Thursday 30th. June 2022 at 8 p.m.

Sidmouth Parish Church


Classical guitar recital



John Dowland - Præludium P.98 & Fantasia No.7 in G
William Walton - Selections from Five Bagatelles
Agustín Barrios - La Catedral
 - Una Limosna por el Amor de Dios
Heitor Villa-Lobos - Selections from Douze Études
Isaac Albéniz - 
Suite Española, Op. 47: 
Asturias (Leyenda)
Fernando Sor - Variations on a Theme of Mozart, Op. 9


Complimentary tickets now available. See poster below.


Saturday 2nd. July 2022 at 7.30 p.m.

Sidmouth Parish Church


Berlioz : Roman Carnival Overture


Rodrigo : Fantasia para un gentilhombre



‘He went on to command everyone`s attention with his virtuosity, rich quality of tone and deep understanding

of the music.’


Dvořák: Symphony No. 8

In 2016, James Girling won the RNCM Gold Medal Competition, the conservatoire’s most prestigious award. As a result, he gave his Wigmore Hall debut solo recital on classical guitar in 2017. Following performances of Rodrigo’s Fantasía para un Gentilhombre, James Girling made his Concierto de Aranjuez debut with orchestra in 2019. James has been awarded the Biddy Baxter and John Hosier Music Trust’s Special Award, the Emscote bursary from Edward Dusinberre of the Takács Quartet, Hilda Anderson Deane Award for all-round excellence, a Countess of Munster Musical Trust Award and Help Musicians Postgraduate Awards.

Composed in 1954 for guitarist Andrés Segovia, Fantasía para un gentilhombre (Fantasia for a Gentleman) was premiered by Segovia and The San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Enrique Jordá.

Dvořák's Symphony No. 8 is cheery and lyrical and draws its inspiration from the Bohemian folk music that he loved.

Book now